My Baby Buster


Tribute to my Baby Buster.  This Xmas will be 2 years since he passed away.  I miss him more than I can say.  I cried when he died and I cry still.  He left us too soon.  I know I’ll see him in heaven for there is no place called Paradise without my loving little boy Buster.

Here he is on Papa’s lap. “Sir” is what he called him.  Because he was a little gentleman.  T took care of him for two years, never complaining once about giving him his pills twice a day, paying for expensive medicine, taking him to the vet, holding him until the seizures stopped, cleaning up after him so lovingly as any Papa would.  T had faith that Bussie would recover from Valley Fever- but life had other plans.

Not the least hard thing to bear when they go from us, these quiet friends, is that they carry away with them so many years of our own lives.

John Galsworthy

sharing a sunny spot with sister

To call him a dog hardly seems to do him justice, though inasmuch as he had four legs, a tail, and barked, I admit he was, to all outward appearances. But to those who knew him well, he was a perfect gentleman.

Hermione Gingold

Buster loved his bones.  He sucked on them like a pacifier.

Sweet and precious face.  Such innocent eyes.

Sleeping like an angel.

On mama’s lap like this almost every day for 10 years.

Best snuggles ever.

Always up for anything.

Except pictures when he wanted to play!

Looking into my baby boy’s eyes.

First day with adopted brother.

T just picked them up and both sunk into his lap and closed their eyes.  This is comfort.  This is trust.  This is love.

Baby Buster  took my heart and ran with it.  And there it is still- a piece of my heart bound up with his forever.


“No heaven will not ever Heaven be. Unless my dogs are there to welcome me.”

Last picture of the three musketeers:  Lil Peanut, Francine Laure and Baby Buster

I called him my little sweetheart.  If I said “Whose my little sweetheart?”  he knew I meant him.

“…love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”

Kahlil Gibran

My dogs.

Bill Blass, after being asked “Who or what is the greatest love of your life?” by Vanity Fair magazine

This one was the last photo we had in our camera.  My very special niece Aubrey and her little buddy Buster.  I’m glad it was her because she loved him a whole lot.   She was proud of putting him to sleep like a baby by petting him in this photo.  You can’t tell but his mouth is open- he was snoring.

 

Buster

I lost a treasured friend today
The little dog who used to lay
His gentle head upon my knee
And shared his silent thoughts with me.

He’ll come no longer to my call
Retrieve no more his favourite ball
A voice far greater than my own
Has called him to his golden throne.

Although my eyes are filled with tears
I thank him for the happy years
He let him spend down here with me
And for his love and loyalty.

When it is time for me to go
And join him there, this much I know
I shall not fear the transient dark
For he will greet me with a bark.

~Author Unknown

5 thoughts on “My Baby Buster

  1. FeeFee, that was so precious. I have two shih tzus that both look like Buster. I’m afraid of what life will be like when they pass, but the love a dog gives is like no other. Thank you for showing your little gentleman to us.

  2. What a sweet tribute! I’m so sorry for your loss. There’s always that ONE special dog that steals your heart and there’s nothing you can do about it & it doesn’t matter how much time passes.

  3. I lost my first cat in 1999. I miss him to this day and can’t talk about him without getting all teary eyed. He was my soul. He was the one who started me on my journey to compassion for animals. So I completely understand how you feel about Buster.

    • awww that is sad Anne. All animals are awesome but every once in a while you get a really special one who tugs at your heart. We were lucky to have them for as long as we did.

Leave a Reply

